“My Crohn’s Colitis strictures naturally break up and release after about 1.5 weeks on a strict Absorb Plus enteric diet. My flareup frequency is now down to once per year after about 4 years of following the protocol on every flare without fail, and they are diminishing in severity as well.

Counting my previous orders, I see 10 times out of 10 orders I have put my (previously completely disabling) version of complex fistulizing Crohns Colitis in remission using only Absorb Plus, additional oils for calories, and adding bone broth as the flare begins to subside. 7 tubs in 2 weeks does it every time now.

I have never given you a formal testimonial on this but THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart for this incredible product that has helped me avoid toxic biologic drugs for almost 5 years now.”

J.V., New York, USA

“I was diagnosed with Ulcerative Colitis 10 years ago, I was 27 at the time and the specialist asked me if I had a good health plan because I was going to need it. Stunned and uninformed and refusing to go the “drug” method I began the journey of naturopaths, homeopath and trial and error. I submitted to drug therapy within 18 months, in an emergency room as I lay in the bed in tremendous pain and bleeding with no control, I felt I had no choice. Asacol was my constant companion.

I work in the film industry, 16 hour days and heavy stress load for months on end have finally taken its toll, by this last April my body couldn’t hold its self together anymore and I was bleeding non-stop, with massive cramping and pain when I ate something. With a life style change ahead of me I knew I had to do something fast, I was on 8 Asacol a day and the bleeding was getting worse, I was afraid to go back to the doctors because of the Steroid threat. Through divine intervention I was introduced to Ms. Patel Thompson’s book and Absorb Plus! My life changed from then on, drinking 3 shakes a day, with no other food I continued the diet faithfully.

Within 6 weeks I stopped bleeding, after a year of bleeding! I’m now on 2 Asacol a day and I haven’t bled since, I tell everyone about Absorb Plus, health food stores, naturopaths, homeopaths basically anyone who is interested in helping those of us with IBD. Absorb Plus saved my life! I now have the energy, wellness and the confidence which has been provided by knowing there is truly an alternative to “drug therapy” has brought me a tremendous peace of mind, Absorb Plus will be a part of my life forever, my partner and I are currently trying to start a family and Absorb Plus has given me the confidence to pursue our dream.”

Y.W., B.C., Canada

“I am writing to tell you how much your product has helped me. I was diagnosed with severe ulcerative pan-colitis about 18 months ago. I went from being a healthy vegetarian of 15 years to a skinny, malnourished person who can eat very little without experiencing severe pain and other complications. Because I am able to eat so little and therefore receive so little nutrition, I have experienced difficulty sleeping and concentrating. Additionally, I am a massage therapist, which is very physical work. I thought that I would have to give up my career because of this disease. Absorb Plus has helped me dramatically. Since I have started using your product I have gained weight, sleep better and have more energy. It has made coping with this terrible disease much easier.”

S.A., Georgia, USA

“I was diagnosed with indeterminate ulcerative colitis over 10 years ago. I have been on 5-ASA drugs (currently Asacol) for all of these years. My flare-ups have become more frequent lately. After my last colonoscopy, my GI Doc tried to talk me into taking steroids. This was not an option for me. I had read Jini’s books “Listen to Your Gut” and “The IBD Remission Diet” so, instead of steroids I decided to follow Jini’s advice and promptly began drinking Absorb Plus. I drank the shakes for 2 weeks before I started eating solid food again.

The transition from the Absorb Plus to food again was so easy. It was amazing. During the 2 weeks on Absorb Plus, I barely lost any weight (I usually start losing weight right away when I am having a flare), my energy level stayed consistent and I actually kept up my exercise program. It’s pretty easy to stay on the diet since the shakes are just so good. I spoke with my Doctor about drinking Absorb Plus instead of steroids, and he was all for it.

I still continue to have flare-ups now and then, but I am so relieved after all these years to have a very good source of nourishment to get me back on the right track. Thank you so much for sharing Absorb Plus with those that need it!

I am happy to tell you how much I enjoy Absorb Plus. I always had digestive problems and started to take Absorb Plus as a midnight snack. It did help me to feel comfortable. The best use I have is when I go to exercise, I take it about 1 to 2 hours before and have now no stomach discomfort or gas with exercise. I am happy that I found your product. I hope this explains it enough. ”

ND ONE YEAR LATER!:
“I have been using Absorb Plus for over a year now. It is so great to have these shakes to rely on instead of drugs. I have not had to go on prednisone, because the Absorb Plus gets me back on the right track naturally. My GI Doc has finally agreed to stop pestering me about taking pred. to get me into remission as long as the Absorb Plus is doing its job. So far, so good. Thank you to all involved in supplying Absorb Plus to the public.”

D.S., Texas, USA

“I used it during my pregnancy and after the birth of my first child. I am still using it every time I feel a cold coming up or when I am having a lot of stress and feel tired. I find the shakes easy to use, offering good quality, supporting my needs exactly as I need it.

I have Colitis Ulcerosa and have never felt this energetic in many years (feeling tired was one of my main complaints). Though expensive, I have full trust in your shakes, since being developed and initiated by Jini Patel.”

M.M., Amsterdam, Netherlands

“I haven’t had any problems. My biggest problem is fear of going back to eating real food. I finally feel like a normal person again and don’t want to go back to being the blown up blueberry girl in Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. I have another week and it will be time to transition. Thanks for all the great information and a way to get back to normal.”

S.H., California, USA

“I suffer with Ulcerative Colitis and due to the nature of the disease, I was not able to do my daily activities. It used to be very tough going to the office and working effectively. I learned about Absorb Plus from Jini Patel’s book and started taking 2 Absorb Plus shakes daily. Guess what: Now I feel fresh and have gained some of the weight I lost – Thanks to Absorb Plus. It is little bit pricy but worth the results.”

H.S.., California, USA

“April 2005
“In the past, a flare up of my Ulcerative Colitis would almost always lead to a fairly severe amount of weight loss. Once I started using Absorb Plus, I discovered that I could maintain my weight during my flare ups by replacing several meals with the tasty shakes. The stress of deciding what to eat is diminished greatly by having the option of a healthy and easy to digest shake.”

May 2004
“I work as a field producer for a couple of television shows that air across North America meaning I have to do a fair bit of traveling. In the past, it would often be difficult to avoid a flare up when on these trips due to the difficulty of maintaining a proper diet in the field. After trying out Absorb Plus for a few weeks at home and being impressed with the increase in energy I was feeling I decided to take it on the road with me for a huge three day trade show that I was covering.

Rather than stopping for an overpriced and nutritionally questionable cafeteria meal, I packed a couple of shakes worth of Absorb Plus with my gear and stopped for one of those a couple of times during the day. I was able to keep my energy up and returned home feeling great. My plan now is to always bring Absorb Plus on the road as a meal replacement, while continuing to augment my regular diet to try to get some wait back on health.”

R.N.., B.C., Canada

“I have mild IBD, and I would not start my day any other way than with Absorb Plus. After sleeping all night and having to go to work early, my body needs all the nutrients in a gentle form solid food can’t provide- Absorb Plus! On my worst days I consume nothing but Absorb Plus and my body rewards me with a sense of better well-being. Also, your loyalty program works like clockwork. I didn’t even have to ask for my free tubs- Thanks!”

R.L., Pennsylvania, USA

“I’m 51 year old, and was diagnosed with IBD approximately 5 years ago. I also had a minor heart attack approximately 6 years ago. I had a stent put in my right coronary artery. Luckily, I had little to no heart damage. I have had high blood pressure for years controlled with prescription drugs. I’ve also had high cholesterol and high triglyceride numbers. No matter what I’ve done, I haven’t been able to lower these numbers. I haven’t had dairy in years due to lactose intolerance, and watch everything that I eat. All of the above at least seems to be genetic. I’ve never smoked, don’t drink coffee and have had no alcohol for years. Many in my family have had similar health problems. My father died at the age of 50, and he was a physician.

In spite of the above, I’m in excellent physical shape and certainly look quite healthy. I work out regularly and, as I said, eat right, but again I thought it must be my genes. My IBD had finally been under control as a result of using some of the suggestions in Jini’s first book that I’d purchased a year and a half ago. Those suggestions are the use of L-Glutamine, NAG and a carefully controlled diet along with the physician prescribed drug Colazal. Colazal had not worked as a sole remedy for a few years.

In August of this year, I had a terrible flare up that I could not get under control. I bled excessively and could not figure out what I’d done differently. Prednisone seemed the only answer, but I’d had some bad side effects from it in the past. My regular regime of L-Glutamine and Colazal was not working. I checked your web site and purchased Jini’s new book on different diets and decided that the predigested food diet was my last option before going back to prednisone. I purchased your chocolate Absorb pre-digested food shakes, and for the next six and a half weeks basically had four drinks, some clear broths and some organic clear juices along with NAG, L-Glutamine, vitamins and Udos oil on a daily basis. I also stopped taking my cholesterol lowering medicine, because I could not believe that this diet wouldn’t have some sort of positive effect on these numbers.

Over a six week period, I had two blood tests and found that my cholesterol numbers dropped from approximately 210 down to 139. My triglyceride numbers dropped from over 200 to 80. I also lost about 22 pounds. I was only trying for 10, as I’ve been trying to drop that ten for a year or more. The blood flow had lessened, but was still coming after six and a half weeks, but the lipid and triglyceride numbers were astounding. I’d also cut my high blood pressure medicine to the lowest dosage given of Procardia, finding this to be enough to keep my pressure under control. Again, the blood flow had lessened but not stopped, so I checked with my very open minded gastroenteologist at this point. He deduced that my internist had, in giving me amoxicillin three months before for what he thought was a bronchial infection, inadvertently messed up the bacterial flora in my colon.

This allowed some harmful bacteria to take over, giving me antibiotic caused colitis. This also aggravated my regular colitis problem. He put me on Flagyl for one week. Flagyl is an antibiotic specific for my bad intestinal bacteria. He then started me on probiotics to replace the good intestinal bacteria. This last step of probiotic introduction is also the next step in Jini’s book for healing my problem.

I currently, on a daily basis, eat two regular meals, based upon the reintroduction diet from Jini’s books, an Absorb shake for breakfast, Udos oil, NAG, L-Glutamine, vitamins, probiotics, Colazal and lots of filtered or bottled water. It is now about three and a half weeks into the probiotic program. I’ve been on Jini’s food reintroduction program for about the same amount of time. I’m not seeing any blood as of about three days ago. I’m 5’10” tall and my weight has stabilized at 172. That’s my college gymnastics competition weight. I get another blood test in about two weeks to see if my cholesterol and triglycerides have remained low.

The combination of all of the above was extremely well worth the effort. I’m convinced that had I known to take only the Flagyl, I wouldn’t be on the road to having my colitis under the control that it currently is. The unexpected cholesterol, triglyceride, blood pressure and weight loss results were amazing . In my estimation, this whole program was easily better and less destructive than the use of steroids to my traumatized system.

As I said, I still have a chocolate Absorb shake for breakfast. It’s my favorite flavor. I find them most satisfying and filling. I just reordered enough for the next few months. My internist was so impressed by the Absorb product and probiotic program that he has suggested this regimen to some of his other patients. I can’t thank you enough for your products, your research and your supportive books. If I may be of any help to another person with this problem in any way, please feel free to contact me. I know how frustrating this process and the problem can be. You have to be patient, but this program works!”

S.L., Colorado, USA

“I’m 38 and suffer from ulcerative colitis and celiac disease. The latter is a chronic intolerance to gluten which is found in more foods than you can imagine. The combination of these two conditions have left me weakened and undernourished with regular stomach pain, often chronic. Absorb Plus came to my attention at a difficult time recently and helped me overcome it. I was not able to tolerate solid food well so getting my nutrients in a drink was great. I was amazed how easily my stomach digested Absorb Plus and the pleasant full feeling it gave me. I’ve not had that in a supplement before. Luckily I was able to eat some solid food in conjunction so I was not fully reliant on a liquid diet.

The most pleasing aspect of combining Absorb Plus (blended with flax seed oil and a banana) and sticking to a gluten free diet is that I’ve gained 14lbs in weight – a significant achievement for someone who has been underweight most of his life (due to my undiagnosed celiac condition). My only problem: Absorb Plus is not cheap. I’ve had to economise (ie. not use it as much as I otherwise would) to make it last. At least now it’s available locally from Finlandia. That’s where I bought my most recent batch.
January 2003”

C.M., B.C., Canada

“Having recently undergone the second of two major surgeries for severe ulcerative colitis, I decided to go on a two week course of Absorb Plus (exclusively, no other food) with the goal of restoring balance to my gut, losing some weight, and generally “detoxifying” my system.

This is a terrific product. I felt great the whole time I was taking Absorb Plus. The immediate outcome was a reduction in my cravings for caffeine and other stimulants, a huge boost in energy levels, and the loss of an unwanted 12 lbs, which has stayed off. Since my surgeries, I have been prone to painful blockages.

After taking Absorb Plus, my digestion has vastly improved and I have had no blockages at all. Taking AP has led me to question whether my surgeries might even have been averted had this product been available to me earlier. I still use Absorb Plus on an occasional basis as part of regular health maintenance. The shakes are delicious, easy and particularly useful when I’m in too much of a rush to cook.”

S.S., Ontario, Canada

“After being diagnosed one and a half years ago with indeterminate ulcerative colitis, I tried the full range of conventional 5-ASA drugs (salofalk, asacol, pentasa) but experienced no improvement at all. In fact, some of the drugs worsened my condition. I also tried a number of natural therapies, including restrictive diets such as the Specific Carbohydrate Diet, a wide range of supplements, and bodywork therapies, all of which helped me somewhat, but which I felt did not go far enough toward getting the disease under control.

I decided to try the IBD Remission Diet using Absorb Plus after the onset of a sudden, nasty flare that also resulted inpainful swellings on my legs called erythema nodosum that made it difficult for me to walk. I learned about an elemental diet after having read Jini Patel Thompson’s book, Listen To Your Gut. Although initially I felt skeptical about my ability to stay on a completely liquid diet for any length of time, I decided that it seemed like a much better – and safer – option than the ones my G.I. was offering in the form of steroids and immuno-suppressive drugs.

I followed the diet for two and a half weeks then tapered off the shakes gradually over the course of another one and a half weeks. Within three days of beginning the diet my erythema nodosum began to disappear, and although one does experience some “urgency” as a result of this diet being all liquid – the nearly intolerable urgency I had been experiencing beforehand went away as well. During the course of the diet I never felt hungry, enjoyed the taste of the shakes and was full of energy.

I was able to put on and maintain needed weight and was amazed how little self-discipline it took to stay on the diet. I actually found I enjoyed the break from planning menus, shopping, cooking and cleaning up! Within the first week of returning to solid food I experienced the first solid bowel movements I had in almost a year. My digestion was quiet and painless and food was properly broken down. My energy levels stayed up and my weight has stayed on.

The IBD Remission Diet has been a dramatic, positive step forward in what I see as an ongoing healing process. Although I may experience flares again in the future, the fear factor is almost gone now that I know I have a powerful tool for managing them that will not cause horrible side effects or damage my immune system. I still consume the shakes on a regular basis, mainly for health and nutritional reasons, but also because I really enjoy them. I would highly recommend this diet for anyone with gastro-intestinal problems or anyone seeking a balanced, natural approach to long-term health.”

E.D., Ontario, Canada

“I write to say that I am very happy that I managed to find a very good dietary supplement for my mother. She was diagnosed as suffering from ulcerative colitis after loosing 39 pounds in 9 months, (she only weighed about 58kg before) not being able to eat much and had a mild diarrhea. I live in Cambridge, UK, and my mother is in Hong Kong.

Having searched the Web for information for treatment, I came across Jini Patel Thompson’s book, the IBD Remission Diet, which I bought. I was impressed in what she claimed and decided to get my mother to try the dietary method in controlling her disease. When I got to Hong Kong, her doctor already put her on steroid and an anti-inflammatory drug. In the past two months she only managed to gain back 2 kg in weight and was feeling very frustrated and worried.

I decided to let her keep on with her steroid treatment as she seems to be responding to the drug, but use Absorb Plus as a supplementary diet to get her to gain weight. Using the calories chart, which I found extremely useful, I got my mother drinking three shakes per day with the aim of having her gaining a pound every 2 days. Also, I managed to convince her that she also needs a bit more food that is rich in carbohydrates.

As a result, she gained 2 kg in 5 days since she started and her doctor is pleased with her progress and decided to reduce her steroid intake to a much less aggressive dosage. We decided to keep her on Absorb Plus until she has fully recovered the weight that she lost and then reduce the intake to function as a maintenance diet.

In addition, I am very impressed with the professionalism of the service. As I can only stay in Hong Kong for a relatively short period of time. The company managed to deliver the goods to me in time so that I can monitor the progress of my mother with the diet before I leave. I am grateful for your help.”

K.K.C., Cambridge, UK

“I was diagnosed with Ulcerative colitis a year ago and have lost 2.5 stone in weight since then. I was 8 stone and went down to 5.5 stone at 5 ft 3″. It hurt too much to eat and what I did eat was pureed vegetables and rice that contain hardly any calories. So as you can imagine, I wasn’t putting any weight on.

I tried other protein drinks, some were awful in taste and others contained too much sugar and artificial preservatives and flavourings. Nevertheless I persevered but just did not gain any weight.

I first heard of the Absorb Plus shakes in Ms Patel’s book. Since I began consuming the shakes I put on half a stone so am up to 6 stone now. I have more energy now and my doctor as well as friends have commented that I have a lot more colour in my face. I have recently had another flair up and so am going on the elemental diet knowing that I won’t lose any weight this time.

Thank you so much, I don’t know what I would have done if I had not found this product. UC sufferers have a lot of worries, one being weight loss and malnutrition and I’m sure a lot of people would agree that it is one less worry for them. Also I am going on holiday soon and will be carrying the shakes with me….and will be annoying the stewards on the flight as I’ll need to mix my shakes in their work area!”

H.W., Middlesex, UK

“I was diagnosed with indeterminate ulcerative colitis over 10 years ago. I have been on 5-ASA drugs (currently Asacol) for all of these years. My flare-ups have become more frequent lately. After my last colonoscopy, my GI Doc tried to talk me into taking steroids. This was not an option for me.

I had read Jini’s books “Listen to Your Gut” and “The IBD Remission Diet” so, instead of steroids I decided to follow Jini’s advice and promptly began drinking Absorb Plus. I drank the shakes for 2 weeks before I started eating solid food again. The transition from the Absorb Plus to food again was so easy.

It was amazing. During the 2 weeks on Absorb Plus, I barely lost any weight (I usually start losing weight right away when I am having a flare), my energy level stayed consistent and I actually kept up my exercise program. It’s pretty easy to stay on the diet since the shakes are just so good. I spoke with my Doctor about drinking Absorb Plus instead of steroids, and he was all for it.

I still continue to have flare-ups now and then, but I am so relieved after all these years to have a very good source of nourishment to get me back on the right track. Thank you so much for sharing Absorb Plus with those that need it!”

P.M., New Jersey, USA

“I have found Absorb + has given me the extra energy I need to enjoy my sports and exercise. I was recently hospitalized after a bad bout of U Colitis and lost a stone in weight. After 1 month on Absorb + I am getting back up to my fighting weight of 12 stone. I’m also back playing competitive football and feeling strong. Absorb +, together with a sensible eating plan, has helped me get back to my old self in double quick time!”

T.H.., Middlesex, UK

“I just want to let you know that I love the Absorb Plus Shakes, and so does my husband. He was diagnosed with Ulcerative Colitis last year and I recently put him on the Remission Diet, since every bite of food he was eating was making him sick. I have to tell you he loves the taste of berry fusion (of course!) the chocolate I think he is very sensitive with it, but he loves the berry fusion the most. I will be ordering 6 more later this afternoon, overnight delivery, as I don’t want him to run-out, and on Friday I will place another order.”

D.G., Maryland, USA

“Hello, I am writing to inform that the Absorb Plus shakes have been working marvelously for me. I have chron’s disease and there were days that I could not eat and they helped me get all the nutrients I needed. Also they have been enjoyable to drink, I even crave them sometimes. My favorite way to drink it is when I prepare the vanilla in a blender with ice and a banana. It comes out foamy and thick. I like drinking it slowly with a spoon or a straw.

I have also found that combining flavours is a good way to change the taste. My favorite is vanilla but I have found the bitter taste of the chocolate refreshing as well. The berry fusion is my least favorite but have found it to be interesting with the vanilla. Thank you for your help and nutrients.”

L.P., New York, USA

“Here’s how Absorb Plub has changed my life:
Since I started on the Absorb Plus I have gone from being so run down and malnourished that I could barely move around, to achieving the energy levels required to do light housework, yoga and even do the unthinkable – Spring Cleaning & outdoor gardening! What I relish the most is that now I have enough energy to enjoy being around my family and friends partaking in backyard barbecues just like the good old days.”

M.D., Ontario, Canada

“Wow! Thanks for the great service! I am just getting started with The Absorb Plus which I was informed about by Jini Patel Thompson in her book, “The IBD Remission Diet”. I have had an ongoing GI medical problem for the last 2 and 1/2 years that has not been diagnosed. I have lost 25lbs and am unable to eat most things. I have tried many nutritional shakes, mixes, etc to make sure I was getting the proper amounts of carbs, protein, vitamins, minerals, etc – I have not been able to tolerate any of those.

I cannot convey my excitement when I tried this product and was able to tolerate it – AND IT TASTED GREAT!! I am hoping this will give my digestive system a rest and allow me to heal. I would be more than happy to give a testimonial about how finally I have found a product that I can handle and tastes great! It will be even better if I start gaining weight and start to feel better in a couple of weeks. I will keep in touch and let you know if my condition is improving.

To have gone from being scared to eat because whatever I ate brought on pain and discomfort to having something (finally!) that I can tolerate and enjoy (and is nutritious!) is remarkable.

Thanks!! Thanks for taking note of my two orders and passing on the savings to me. That is outstanding customer service!! I appreciate it.”

S.A., Michigan, USA

“I have been using Absorb Plus for the last month as recommended in Jini Patel’s book as a part of the Elemental Diet. I must say the taste & variety provided are fantastic! I was somewhat hesitant since there are only 3 flavours available, but have realized there is quite a bit of variety available especially when experimenting with mixing the flavours and I urge others to do the same!

The shakes (in addition with flax) have been very filling and I have had no cravings! Which was quite surprising since I normally have a voracious appetite. But most importantly my chocolate cravings were satisfied nicely by the Chocolate Royale.

Even my husband who is not on the Elemental Diet has been having shakes as they provide an excellent source of Energy. I haven’t had to change my lifestyle at all, I still have the same amount of energy and am able to go to the gym three times a week, work and take night classes. If anything I think the Absorb Plus shakes have made life easier since there was no need to worry about planning meals, shopping or cooking! And with my busy schedule they provided all the nutrition and calories and energy I need. I would most definitely recommend Absorb Plus to anyone out there who is considering following the elemental diet or just to keep on hand for their daily dose of vitamins! And as I said they’re great as a meal replacement when you’re on the go.

I will certainly continue using Absorb Plus even when I’m done the elemental diet for nutrition!! Thank you for a great product!”

G.M., Alberta, Canada

“I received my order on 1/8/03. I decided to try the Absorb Plus that day because every-time I eat solid foods I end up in excruciating pain. My doctor has decided that I should stay on an elemental diet for now until I see a GI specialist on the 21st of January. The shake mixed up easily with no clumps, I used a blender because I added flax oil to it. I was very surprised that it tasted good. I have tried other elemental products only to decide that I couldn’t stay on an elemental diet because I couldn’t drink the stuff. I am very pleased with the ease of preparation of your product and the taste. My favorite flavor is the French Vanilla.”

P.M., New Jersey, USA

“I suffer with Ulcerative Colitis and due to the nature of the disease, I was not able to do my daily activities. It used to be very tough going to the office and working effectively. I learned about Absorb Plus from Jini Patel’s book and started taking 2 Absorb Plus shakes daily. Guess what: Now I feel fresh and have gained some of the weight I lost – Thanks to Absorb Plus. It is little bit pricy but worth the results.”

H.S.., California, USA

“My compliments on the website by the way. It’s clear, attractive and very user friendly. The link to the currency converter is great. Apart from the lack of international shipping option, the online ordering was a breeze.”

L.A., Mudgeeraba, Australia

“I may be biased because I formulated it, but, I’ve used Absorb Plus to both gain weight and as a daily supplement shake. It’s really handy for me because I can’t swallow pills, so I just empty all my supplements into a shake each day (Berry Fusion is my favorite flavor) add flax oil, and it’s a tasty way to get superb nutrition every day.

I’m now pregnant with my second child and I have one every morning with all my prenatal supplements as well. Having drunk other protein shakes and mixes for years, you can’t even compare the taste difference. Most of the others are really nasty tasting and I’ve had to force myself to drink them.

Absorb Plus actually tastes good! In fact, I find myself craving it and my 2 year old son often asks for a ‘milkshake’. Which reminds me, it’s great to use for kids so you don’t worry if they haven’t eaten much that day, or when they’re sick. You just whip up 1/2 a shake with flax oil (I put extra Vitamin C in calcium ascorbate form in it if he’s sick to boost his immune system) and he thinks he’s getting a special treat. Again, this works, because the product tastes so good!”

J Patel Thompson, B.C., Canada

“I have been using Absorb Plus for several months now. I tried it at the suggestion of Jini Patel Thompson. I truly like each of the three flavours, probably vanilla the best. I generally combine two flavours with vanilla the predominant. I have grown to like each enough that I look at Absorb Plus as a dessert that just happens to provide a nutritional balance that I need. I easily absorb the drink because of its elemental ingredients. This helps to “quiet” my digestive system when I have it as my evening meal thus assisting in a better night’s sleep.

I am scheduled for a colon exam this summer. I plan preparing for it using Ms. Thompson’s remission diet for two weeks prior to this exam. Absorb Plus will play a large role in this preparation. I am actually looking forward to it.”

A.H., Maryland, USA

“Hi! I am 16 years old and have had Crohn’s disease for about 6 years. I had tried many types of medicines to get my flares under control, but none of them seemed to work that well. My doctor told me to drink nutrient shakes orally or consume them using GI tube feedings. I tried many different types of shakes, such as Peptamen, Modulen IBD, Ensure (etc.). Those products tasted awful, made me gag and gave me a horrible aftertaste, that lasted hours. I couldn’t stand it any longer and tried GI tube feedings, but that only lasted a week or so, because that, too, was unbearable.

When I was in the hospital (to learn how to put the GI tube down my nose), the nurses gave me Modulen IBD. When I woke up from the feedings, my stomach felt really nauseous because of all the sugar and “unnatural” ingredients in the shakes.

The first time I tried Absorb Plus, I was ecstatic because it made me feel great and it tasted WONDERFUL! I’ve been on them (with no food) for 11 weeks so far and am still not tired of the taste-many times I even crave them! My other favorite part of using Absorb Plus, is that I only have to drink 1 cup, 4 times a day (I weigh 110 Ibs). With the other brands of “yucky” IBD shakes, I had to drink around 2 cups, 8 times a day!

I told other IBD sufferers about your product, and they were very timid because many of them had tried other products in the past and were dissatisfied. My advice is: Don’t have negative thoughts about tasting Absorb Plus for the first time, they really are that good! These shakes are kid and teenager approved! Thank you for making such a great product!”

L.M., Virginia, USA

“Despite not liking milkshakes, I have tried Absorb plus for the first Time and straightaway had success by excluding all other foods; within two days,much of my pain had subsided and I returned to a normal diet. Some of my Crohn’s pain has returned (possibly because I may have Returned to a normal diet too soon – it was Christmas!) so I am now taking only Absorb plus for a more sustained period. I particularly like the Vanilla flavour and will be ordering some more.”

J.B., Yorkshire, UK

January 19, 2005:
“Our son was diagnosed in September with Crohn’s Disease. He is only 10 years old and had lost nearly 20 pounds. At the beginning of January, I found your web site and ordered all three flavours. He is somewhat asymptomatic right now and is eating well, but he really needs to gain back some weight. Using Absorb Plus as a supplement, he has gained three pounds in two weeks!! What a difference! He looks so much better and has so much energy! He is playing basketball, skiing and snowboarding. His color is great and he feels really good. Our doctor was impressed. He wants to start weaning our son off his medication. Thank you so much for your product. I hope that he will continue to gain. His next appointment is in March, so we will let you know the results!! ”

March 17, 2005:
“I just took my son back for a recheck, and he has gained another four pounds. Our Dr. took George off of his Pentasa, and he took down the info on the product. I hope that some other kids can get help, too. I will call Monday to see how his blood work went. He is still feeling and looking great. When I tuck him in at night and I rub his back I feel flesh, not bones. He’s up a total of 12 pounds.”

K.B., Michigan, USA

“Thanks for my recent order of Absorb Plus. This is my second time using the product as described in the IBD Remission Diet. I truly believe Jini’s claim that the use of Absorb Plus is as effective as Prednisone for my Crohns’ disease.

I am very anti-drug and it is great to have a natural alternative to the dangers of drug therapy (as my G.I. says “there is no magic bullet to treat Crohn’s”). The first week of the IBD remission diet is tough (the detox effect and hunger are a challenge) but it is nothing compared to dealing with the pains of Crohn’s disease – and it gets much easier after the first week or so.

I encourage you and your company to continue with the incentive program for regular users of Absorb Plus. In fact, I wish you would increase such efforts as it is very important to be cost-effective with your products. After all, most Crohn’s sufferers are in their teens and twenties and they are very limited when it comes to finances (I know several who would like to try the diet if it were more affordable). I understand that the ingredients are top-notch and are more affordable in your mixture than if one made it themselves. Still, do your best on bringing the cost down and you will be rewarded with more users.

You can use these comments (in whole or in part) but try to include the creative criticisms as this will show others how genuine you and your company are.”

T.J., Georgia, USA

“My daughter is 22 years old and has been diagnosed with Crohn’s disease when she was 11. Since then she had many flare ups and before learning about Absorb Plus, they were managed with a lot of medication and sometimes elemental diets that tasted awful. This last relapse, just a month ago, she decided to give it a try and go on a liquid diet exclusively on the Absorb Plus (5-6 shakes a day). It was a life saver!!!!!!! The fevers were gone and her energy went up faster and without all the side effects of so many medications. She was actually craving the shakes. Thank you for making such a wonderful product.”

A.P., New York, USA

“My 16yr old son has crohn’s. He drinks a shake every morning. We have noticed since he started using Absorb, that he has gained weight. As a result, Absorb has become an important part of his diet.”

A.G., Florida, USA

“I keep Absorb Plus in my home for my 16-year-old daughter who has Crohn’s disease. We are treating her complete naturally and this was a wonderful alternative to use for bowel rest when she is not quite feeling right. I hate the idea of giving her a supplement drink with chemicals and preservatives in it. The interesting thing is that I ended up needing it desperately and was so thankful I had 2 complimentary servings that I received from reading Jini-Patel Thompson’s book.

This past January I got a very bad bronchial virus. I was having cough spasms so severely that I injured my ribs. I reluctantly decided to try a course of antibiotics because I was so miserable. Four hours after taking the antibiotics, I was on the floor sweating and cramping. I thought I was going to die. I had a total bacteria kill-off and I became toxic. It is called antibiotic induced colitis. I started having diarrhea and then I began to pour out blood from my intestines. This went on for days. I chose not to go to the emergency room because I knew exactly what had happened and I knew that I would be scoped and put on major medications that would ultimately just prolong the healing. I have lived this nightmare with my daughter.

I lost 10 pounds in one week. My body needed nutrition but my intestines were very damaged and so I did not want to use solid food. I began to use the vitamin supplements that my daughter takes in her daily regimen and I used Absorb Plus for my nutritional needs. It was so satisfying and tasted awesome. I slowly began to heal and I thank God that I can say that I am totally healed now from that nightmare. I realize that without the ability to nourish myself, I could have easily succumbed to even more serious health problems as a result of the antibiotic reaction. I love this product and I will always have some in my cupboard for my daughter when she needs it and also for other health emergencies. Thank you!”

T.H., California, USA

“I cannot say enough about Absorb Plus. I am 26 yrs old with crohn’s disease and as a last resort before going on steroids again I tried the shakes. They did take about 4 days to work because at the beginning I hade nausea among other symptoms which could of been a detox process or just because I was very ill when I started to take them. By the 7th day I could not believe the amount of energy I had and in general how good I was feeling. It was the best I have felt in months!

I think these shakes are amazing and I really crave drinking them – and the chocolate flavor taste GREAT! I’m so glad I know I can use this product when things get really bad. Although I plan to keep using it as a supplement in the morning 3-5 times a week once I am back up to my normal food intake. It is truly a great product. I will be placing my next order tonight or tomorrow, as mentioned my flavor of choice is the chocolate one.”

L.M., Michigan, USA

“Following the recommendations of Jini Patel-Thompson’s book, “The IBD Remission Diet”, I decided to undertake a six-week elemental diet using Absorb Plus. I was diagnosed with Crohn’s disease when I was 11 years old (I’m 27 now) and had managed to control the disease fairly well on my own, with minimal medical intervention, until a couple of years ago. Then, in 2002, I developed a dermatological complication called pyoderma gangrenosum, which resulted in erupting welts on my legs that were so painful, I couldn’t even stand up.

I was put on Prednisone, and other immuno-suppressants, to control the skin lesions. I have tried several times to wean myself off Prednisone, but my body is now pretty dependant on it, and I would experience nasty flare ups, both in my gut and on my legs. I have been reluctant in the past to try elemental diets, not only because they seemed difficult to maintain, but because the quality of the products seemed very poor. Most mass-market elemental shakes contain high-fructose corn syrup and other unhealthy ingredients, and they taste awful.

I am happy to say that I have been consuming Absorb Plus exclusively for 5 weeks now, with plans to start re-introducing solid food in a week’s time. I won’t say that it’s been entirely easy, but I find Absorb Plus to be delicious (I mix half Vanilla, half Chocolate) and I am confident that I am getting good nutrition from a quality source. I continue to wean myself off Prednisone, and am looking forward to being drug free very soon. Absorb Plus has been an invaluable tool in my ongoing quest for good health.”

G.L., B.C., Canada

“I received my order of 10 jars of Absorb Plus just after Christmas. My son has been having three shakes each day since then – he has Crohn’s disease and was quite poorly having lost over 13 pounds very quickly – it had taken months to regain just about half of that. He is also eating three meals a day (as suggested in Listen to your Gut). He is still taking steroids. We don’t have scales at home so he won’t be weighed until next week when he sees his gastroenterologist, but he now has energy, is able to get up easily for school (as easily as any other 17 year old!) and has started a gentle program of weight training.

So I’m going to place another order and thought I’d let you know how pleased we are with the results so far!”

B.C., Essex, UK

“Absorb Plus works for me. I have Chron’s and when it flares up I look to Absorb Plus to replace my urge for coffee in the morning. With the Christmas holidays at hand, my stomach is acting up and I can’t get Absorb Plus fast enough. At this point, it’s a good feeling drinking it and knowing my nutrition needs are being taken care of, and it is smooth on my stomach.

Thanks!”

M.G., Illinois, USA

“Now 45 years old, I was diagnosed with Crohn’s Disease in 1980. Apart from the first 30 days after diagnosis in 1980, I have remained drug-free. have never had surgery. The disease has manifested itself as a series of very small strictures (2mm in some cases) in my small intestine. These obstructions, along with mal-absorption of protein, calcium, iron and other nutrients have caused much suffering in the form of intestinal pain, gas, weightlessness, fatigue, edema and mood-swings. With some difficulty, and with patience from family, friends and employer, I have been able to lead a relatively normal life resulting in a career, marriage and young family. Knowledge of my own body and its needs along with strict adherence to the Specific Carbohydrate Diet by Elaine Gotchall for over a decade are the two most important aspects of maintaining my relatively normal life.

In addition, rest, flexible work schedule and awareness of stress play an important role. Small things like wearing clothes without a waistband and lying down on my right or left side for 10 minutes (the choice of side depends on how I feel) actually make the difference between functioning in society or withdrawing in pain and suffering. One tool (weapon) I use is to fast for a day or two when my intestine gets blocked and I can’t unblock it. This of course leads to malnutrition and weightlessness and is not a way to achieve long-term improvement however it lets me survive in the short-term.

After reading Ms. Patel-Thompson’s books and experimenting, I have experienced good success using Absorb Plus as a complete food replacement and as an alternative to fasting to give my intestine a rest while still feeding myself. The results have been good, even with some weight gain. I use twice the amount of liquid recommended in the form of 50/50 rice milk and water mixed with Absorb Plus so that I maintain a good liquid intake. I enjoy the taste of Absorb Plus and see continuing its use indefinitely.”

B.W, B.C., Canada

“I was diagnosed with Crohn’s disease in 2001 at age 23. Over the past two years, I have tried many drugs, treatments and products to manage the symptoms of the disease. In September 2003, I began a low carbohydrate, mostly organic diet, using Absorb Plus as a major supplement to that diet. With the inclusion of Absorb Plus, my symptoms have lessened considerably and I’ve been able to reduce the amount of medication I am taking considerably. Additionally, I’ve gained weight and my energy level is significantly better. Based on my experience, I would recommend the product to individuals who have not responded well to traditional medical treatments for Crohn’s disease or who would like to decrease their dependence on prescription drugs.”

B.G., Colorado, USA

“I have used Absorb Plus for a while now. I truly like the shake. It calms down my stomach and it also helps me sleep better. So I have more energy during the day. Even though it’s expensive, it’s worth the money. I like all three flavors, I’m going to order nine tubs soon, that way I maximize the discount.”

S.D, Maryland, USA

“I was in severe abdominal pain for several months. The doctors were making sure it wasn’t IBD, but in the mean time I was hungry and couldn’t eat because of the pain. My sister has IBD and told me about Absorb Plus. While waiting for the Absorb Plus to be delivered I under went testing and was told I have IBS. I had already been on most of the medications that helped, with no relief. The doctor put me on an antidepressants and said it might help in 6 to 8 weeks and there was nothing else he could do. I had already lost 17 lbs and felt helpless. A few days later the Absorb Plus arrived.

I consumed only the shake for one week to give my bowels a rest and by the end of the week my pain was all gone. I only added one very light meal (eggs or rice) once a day for the next week and for the first time in months I felt hope for a pain free life. I have stopped losing weight and have even gained two pounds. I’m still adding food to my diet. When I find a food that upset my intestines, I drink the shake for the next few meals then I can resume eating. I’ve started to exercise again and now take Absorb Plus as a protein supplement.

I’m very thankful for Absorb Plus for both my sister and me. It has given our intestines a chance to rest while our bodies can heal. I know that without it I would still be pain.”

S.H., Indiana, USA

“Absorb has been THE most effective treatment for me. I’m feeling much better. In 4 months I have put on no less than 10 kg! Every one I see comments on how much better I look.
Thank you for your great product!”

C.S., Australia

“I am in my third year of using Absorb Plus. I use it daily to supplement my diet where I restrict myself from certain food types as described in Jini Patel’s book ‘Listen to your Gut’ . I have been making steady progress against 30 years of Crohn’s disease by diet and lifestyle changes. I generally combine the different flavors of Absorb Plus and use a heavier chocolate serving late in the day as my dessert.

Well, two months ago my colonoscopy showed that much of my inflammation had healed and my Crohn’s was not active. Wow, although I was not surprised, I was very elated. Three years ago, the doctors wanted to perform surgery because my inflammation was too great to perform a colon exam. I said no to that, did my research, and made changes to help myself. I believe Absorb Plus played a significant role in my comeback.”

A.H., Maryland, USA

“I haven’t had any problems. My biggest problem is fear of going back to eating real food. I finally feel like a normal person again and don’t want to go back to being the blown up blueberry girl in Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. I have another week and it will be time to transition. Thanks for all the great information and a way to get back to normal.”

S.H., California, USA

“I’ve had two serious bouts of “don’t really know what it is or what’s causing it”; more blood tests than I care to think about and two “nothing conclusive” colonoscopies (the first in 1997 and the second in 2003). My GP thought possibly IBS but not all of the symptoms and my GI thought possibly colitis but the tests are not conclusive. So actually there was nothing wrong with me except that I couldn’t eat, maintain and/or metabolize food. You wouldn’t know it by my size but eating is one of my most favorite things to do. It’s a hobby… l love good food and I’m fortunately blessed with very good metabolism. However, if I ate I couldn’t leave the house and if I left the house, like to go to work, I couldn’t eat. Eating became a nightmare instead of a joy so I pretty much gave it up. With this last episode I lost over 20 pounds in less than three months which was pretty scary.

I’ve been thin most of my 50+ years (5′ 8″ at approx. 115 pounds) but skinny and malnutrition are a whole different world. Basically the treatment programs offered by my doctors were trial and error… let’s try this, if it doesn’t work we’ll try something else and keep trying until we get it right and the symptoms subside. Now I know why a doctors business is called “medical practice”… what’s the adage – practice makes improvement… wish they’d finish practicing before hanging out a shingle. I’d been hearing about probiotics for several years and since nothing the doctors were currently doing seemed to be helping much (some things made me worse and not to mention the toxic side effects of pharmaceuticals) I decided it couldn’t hurt to try.

I discovered and ordered Jini’s book Listen to Your Gut last September while on a web site ordering probiotics. I don’t recall exactly but I think sometime after ordering the book Jini sent me some information about Absorb Plus and a sample. My initial response was… interesting, I’ll have to look in to it. I actually tried the sample and placed my first order because my Mom started losing weight for no particularly good reason and I thought this might help her. Helping Mom was the motivation but the bonus was taking the shakes myself. Mom is gaining weight and so am I.

I’ve been having a shake almost every morning since January 2004. It took a while to break the 100 pound mark but I did and the gain has been gradual… 3 ½ months later I’m up to 111 pounds. YEAH… it’s the small victories that mean the most! My symptoms are no where near as serious as some that I have read about with Crohn’s or Ulcerative Colitis and my heart goes out to them. I am now not taking any drugs and I can eat anything I want whenever I want. I am convinced that with the daily combination of Absorb Plus and probiotics I am recovered and don’t plan to make any changes from here on out.

THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU! to both you and Jini for giving me back my hobby.
Michael, I’m ordering again today… My Mom loves the chocolate by itself; my preference, since almost day one, is mixing half chocolate and half vanilla. Thanx so much for caring and for your support!”

G.H., California, USA

“I heard about Absorb Plus from a friend who has Crohn’s disease. Having suffered with IBS for years, I was curious to learn more about this product. I bought Jini Patel Thompson’s excellent book, Listen to Your Gut, and read all the information on your website. I had been traveling in Asia for seven months and was experiencing the effects of several stomach bugs acquired along the way, including a 10 lb. weight loss and anemia. After being home for 4 months, I still wasn’t gaining weight.

My doctor sent me to a gastroenterologist for testing and I was told that I had inflammation and ulceration of the colon, consistent with some form of colitis. After the procedure, I immediately went on the elemental diet as described in Jini’s books, drinking 3-4 Absorb Plus shakes with flax oil and iron every day for a week. It was easy to do, as the shakes were delicious and left me feeling full and satisfied. (I especially recommend mixing the chocolate with the vanilla and berry flavors.)

I followed some of the other recommendations in Jini’s book as well, including drinking aloe vera juice and taking probiotics. The diarrhea cleared up after that and in the last 3 weeks I’ve gained 6 lbs. My energy level is higher and I’m told I look healthier. I’ll be getting my iron levels tested again this week, and I’m confident that will have improved as well. I still drink a shake every day as a snack and will continue to do so because I enjoy them and it’s an easy way to get extra nutrition and calories.”

M.M., B.C., Canada

“I am 37 years old and I have IBS. I developed this condition almost 5 years ago by a way I never thought imaginable. For a sinus infection I took two different antibiotics in succession, as a result I developed diarrhea. At the time I thought I had the flu or food poisoning because I had stopped taking them a week before. The trips to the bathroom became more frequent and so I saw a doctor who told me I probably had the stomach flu and I went home. After 11 days with diarrhea looking quite sick I went back to the doctor who again told me I had the flu and gave me Immodium to stop the diarrhea. He never sent me to the lab for a stool test.

Later on that night I became very sick with a really high temperature and knife stabbing stomach pain. I continued to take the Immodium but it never stopped my diarrhea. I had to go to the hospital I felt like I was going to die, there they rehydrated me and sent me home with a lab kit for a for a stool test. I continued throughout the weekend unable to eat or drink, in excruciating pain and sometimes delirious. Not until tuesday did I find out what I had. C- Difficial Toxin, a very severe case, I was given antibiotics to treat this and I had already lost 20 pounds. After 5 more days the pain became worse and I was back in the hospital very dehydrated. The pills were not working, I was then sent to a GI Doctor and the colonoscopy he gave me showed toxin throughout my bowel. At this meeting the doctor informed me to STOP the Immodium as it could lead to the loss of my bowel and I later found out that if the bowel stops moving death can occur.

I am very lucky the Immodium did not work.
I was now put on a stronger antibiotic and after 7 days no improvement. I was then admitted to St. Paul’s hospital quite under-nourished and sick, this time I was given Vancomyacin. With one more recurrence I was given Vancomyacin again and 3 weeks later the toxin was almost all out. I was left unable to eat almost anything and hardly able to walk. It took the next 5 months for me to be able to function at a mild level of ability but I never gained my weight back and had continued IBS and colitis-like symptoms. The toxin had destroyed my digestive system.

Over the next year and a half I struggled with flare ups and learning to eat solid food again, my GI doc was at a loss with me but he told me that a small percent of cases develop IBS or colitis. Through this time I tried many drugs. I was under-nourished and not able to go sometimes for 6 or 7 days this would make me very toxic or I couldn’t stop going even after a bit of food, so I sought out alternative help. I was put on a strict candida diet which caused me to lose more weight and this did nothing for my IBS.

I then found my way to a naturopath who put me through expensive food sensitivity tests and another diet, almost everything which caused more weight loss. I’ve seen this doctor until recently, I spent over 3000 dollars there in less than 10 months. Each time I queried him about another test or remedy he expressed that I couldn’t afford not to do it, each time to no avail. Although he told me I could leave him he said there was no where else for me to go. I continued on feeling beaten, depressed and as though I have gone only backwards. I’ve always felt a little bit of weight would go a long way mentally for me. Which leads me to your product. Like all other powders I’ve tried before I waited for it to make me sick, it never happened EUREKA I struck gold but unfortunately at this time I can only afford a tub every few weeks. I recently hurt my back and I believe because of my prolonged anorexic condition my muscle mass has deteriorated leaving me quite weakened.

On a good note I have noticed improvements while taking Absorb Plus, I am getting regularity and my leaky gut has stopped. I haven’t had many positive results to talk about so this is really good. I feel that over some time Absorb Plus can help me, along with a good healthy diet.”

R.B., B.C., Canada

“I have had a long history of intestinal problems. I’ve been to at least 3 different GI specialists and participated briefly in Dr. Weil’s program at the University of Arizona in 2001. About 10 years ago, my IBS progressed to ulcerative colitis and continued to progress to an array of issues including fissures, leaky gut, proctitis, etc. It appears that my condition is genetic and I’m following in the footsteps of my grandmother. Identical location of problem and symptoms in the large intestine. Unfortunately hers progressed to cancer in the infected area of the colon and had to removed.

After regular colonoscopies and drug treatments, GIs have not found a resolution for my ongoing and worsening problems. Dr. Weil’s program required eliminating wheat, diary, eggs and meat for at least three weeks before reintroducing foods and journaling results. After three weeks, I found that this did not bring me relief and I was still experiencing problems. It seemed as though all solid food disagreed with me. After returning to PA from Tucson recently, I was ready to try something else.

Through an online discussion group, I was excited to learn of Jini’s books (wonderful source of experience, expertise and inspiration) and Absorb Plus. I was especially encouraged when I tried this product and was able to tolerate the chocolate. It was agreeable to my system and taste-buds. Currently, I only drink two shakes, take extra vitamin supplements, and eat one meal or two small meals of fish, rice, non-irritating foods daily. My stress is that I can’t seem to give up chewing at least one meal a day. The above is a compromise between body/mind. The largest factor is cost. I am unable to afford a complete liquid diet of 4-5 shakes/day at this time and have to budget very carefully. With these factors, I know that this is probably the reason that I am not experiencing its full effect. However, I am hoping that this slow introduction will give my digestive system a rest and allow me to heal even if it takes longer.

Any-rate, I can say that I feel great after drinking the shakes and they totally agree with me. I don’t think that I’ll ever want to go back to solid food for breakfast again as nothing has been comparable to start the day. And, a shake is perfect for a meal before bed. I’m most grateful in knowing that I have a product that I can use for flare-ups. I am still awaiting more improved results and would be happy to provide a future testimonial and let you know if my condition has improved. Lastly, it is wonderful to know that a reliable, healthy product for your wellness exists that you’re able to fall back on in times of intestinal woes. I only wish that the cost factor was not a major issue and that I could find it locally verses using only mail order. I’ve had difficulty receiving past supplies in a timely fashion and it is difficult when you depend on it so much and at the same time need to budget very carefully.”

M.R., Pennsylvania, USA

“I am happy to tell you how much I enjoy Absorb Plus. I always had digestive problems and started to take Absorb Plus as a midnight snack. It did help me to feel comfortable. The best use I have is when I go to exercise, I take it about 1 to 2 hours before and have now no stomach discomfort or gas with exercise. I am happy that I found your product. I hope this explains it enough.”

W.D., New York, USA